Sand sand sand …. EVERYWHERE!

It was my last weekend in Cape Town and I wanted to find something very adventure and unique to do.  I was researching different activities that I could do and I came across Sandboarding!  Sandboarding is exactly what it sounds like, snowboarding but in sand instead of snow.  Two friends and I ventured out to Atlantis (About 45-1 hours away from Observatory) to hit the dunes!  When we arrived and saw the view of the dunes, we were completely blown away.  It was so beautiful!

We all chose a board to use from our guide and immediately headed to the dunes.  Our guide explained to us how to wax our board and how often we must wax it (After each ride or every other time for light weights).  My friends and I stayed within two dunes and tried our best to master them before our time was over.  We were provided with about 3 hours on the dunes, which was plenty of time.  (Towards the end we were beginning to get very tired from the heat and walking in the sand)  On my last ride down the dunes I was able to make it all the way to the bottom without falling!  Please take a look at the pictures below!

Sandboarding!

Sandboarding!

Friends :)

Friends 🙂

The dunes!

The dunes!

The dunes!

The dunes!

Unbelievable!  Look at this view!

Unbelievable! Look at this view!

Woo!!  Sandboarding!!!

Woo!! Sandboarding!!!

Sandboarding!

Sandboarding!

Friends

Friends

Leave a Reply

