Snorkeling with SEALS!

Since the hike ended so early, I had time to spare in the afternoon.  I have heard many people give me recommendations on what to do with my time here in Cape Town.  Almost everyone I talked to told me to go snorkeling with seals.  I was able to book a slot with a few friends at 3:00 p.m. yesterday.  I was so excited!  Here I come seals!  The place where we went seal snorkeling is located in Hout Bay.  (Approximately 30 minutes from my apartment.)  When we arrived at our destination we immediately changed into our wetsuits and boarded the boat!  It was a very bumpy ride!  (It was a short ride so it wasn’t bad!  It was actually very enjoyable!)  After 10 minutes we were at seal island.  Literally.  We saw hundreds and hundreds and HUNDREDS of seals on top of each other, playing with each other, and relaxing on the tiny island!  As soon as the boatman anchored our boat we put on our fins, goggles, gloves, snorkel, and were ready to jump in with the seals!  I jumped into the water and began swimming towards the seals.  I will never forget looking under the water for the first time.  It was out of this world.  I saw so many seals, it was unbelievable.  They came very close to us!  After about an hour of seal snorkeling you begin to get very cold and are ready to get out of the water.  When I was back on the boat they dumped hot water in my wetsuit.  BEST FEELING EVER.  So far seal snorkeling is one of the highlights of my adventure in Cape Town!

Here are some pictures from our lovely day with seals!  I hope you love the pictures as much as I do! 🙂

 

Our "Changing Poncho's!"

Our “Changing Poncho’s!”

SMILE!!!! :)

SMILE!!!! 🙂

Miriam and I! :)

Miriam and I! 🙂

Seal Island!

Seal Island!

Woo!  Seals!

Woo! Seals!

Seal Island!

Seal Island!

Seal Island!

Seal Island!

SEAL!!

SEAL!!

So pretty!

So pretty!

Amazing.

Amazing.

SEAL!!

SEAL!!

So close!

So close!

I DID IT!!!

I DID IT!!!

YAY!  We had so much fun!  We didn't want to leave our seal friends!! :(

YAY! We had so much fun! We didn’t want to leave our seal friends!! 😦

We love SEALS!

Snorkeling! :)

Snorkeling! 🙂

Water Jump!

Water Jump!

Friends :)

Friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

