Hurry! It’s time to set sail!

Top of the morning to you! (My afternoon!)

The lesson began by walking through green glass doors!  (No, we don’t have fancy green glass doors – unfortunately!)  It is a game!  When I was a young boy in boy scouts, I remember playing this game.  Every time I played this game I was stumped!  It was time for Mr. Guignet to challenge his first grade boys!  The object of the game is that you can only bring double letter words into the glass green doors.  For example, you can bring a sheep, book, cookie, bee, etc.  I wanted my kiddos to figure out the type of words for themselves.  I started the game off by saying, “Mr. Guignet is bringing through the green glass doors not a dog, but a sheep!  I then continued with several /ee/ and /oo/ words.  After mentioning a few words, I had the class start making guesses!  Some were accurate with the double letters, while others were totally off topic!  (It made for a fun time and laughter!)  After about 15 minutes of playing the game almost half of the class was able to grasp the idea behind the game!  Once I told them the idea of the game they all reacted in the same way.  “AWW that’s so easy!  I knew that!” You gotta love first grade!  This made for an excellent review and an awesome 15 minutes of laughter and smiles! 🙂

I just got back from a day out at sea!  My first grader’s worked on an /sh/ activity today!  Each student was provided with a ship worksheet that had 5 blank circles on it.  The student’s had to figure out what pictures go in the blank spaces.  The 5 pictures had to have the /sh/ sound in the word.  They had a blast with this activity!  Once they found all of the /sh/ pictures I told them to be creative and draw/color a sea, sea creatures, pirates, flags, etc.!  They loved being able to use their art skills to draw sharks and other unique sea creatures!

Click here to view the “Sh” Activity!: “Sh” Activity!

"Sh" Ship!  Each student put their name on the line above "Sh" Ships!  For privacy reasons I shaded out the name of the student.  He is such an artist!

“Sh” Ship! Each student put their name on the line above “Sh” Ships! For privacy reasons I shaded out the name of the student. He is such an artist!

Leave a Reply

