Water travels in a cycle, yes it does!

It has been almost a week since my last blog, so I have a lot to blog about today!  Last week I was very involved in the classroom.  I was able to teach science!  I haven’t taught many science lessons, so I was thrilled to do experiments and get my first graders up, active, and involved!  The first science lesson that I taught was the water cycle.  I wanted to find an engaging activity that would capture my student’s attention and help them remember the steps of the water cycle.  I started off the lesson by showing them a video describing the water cycle.  I made sure to stop and explain the different steps throughout the video to make sure everyone was understanding the water cycle.  After the video I taught my class a song.  The song is called, “The Water Cycle” (sang to the tune of She’ll Be Coming Around the Mountain).

The Water Cycle Song

Water travels in a cycle, yes it does

(Use pointer finger to make a circle)

Water travels in a cycle, yes it does

(Use pointer finger to make a circle)

It goes up as evaporation

(Move hands up in the air)

Forms clouds as condensation

(Form a cloud with your hands)

Then comes down as precipitation, yes it does!

(Lower and shake your hands to the floor)

The last part of the lesson was an experiment!  The experiment that I conducted showed the class how the water cycle works.  (It also got them really excited to learn more about the water cycle)  The main focus of the experiment was to show student’s that when clouds get heavy with water, it creates rain!

Water Cycle Experiment!

Step 1: Gather your supplies.  You would need a glass container/jar, shaving cream, and food coloring.  (I chose blue for rain but the color is up to you!)

Step 2: Fill the glass container with water.  Try to fill it as close to the top as you can!

Step 3:  Add shaving cream on top of the water.  The shaving cream represents the cloud.  I tried to make it look as much like a cloud as possible so the kiddos were not confused.

Step 4:  Carefully pour your food coloring over the shaving cream.  (You do not need to use a lot of coloring, the more you use the bigger the mess!)

Step 5:  Gather your children around the glass container and allow them to be amazed!  My class loved it so much they went home to try it!  (Sorry parents :p)

  

I highly recommend doing the song and experiment to anyone!  My first grader’s come in every morning singing the song!  A fun, easy way to get your class excited about learning!

Leave a Reply

